Allergy Free Hollandaise Sauce

19

 

With asparagus season in full swing and artichoke season rolling in, I figured it was the perfect time to roll out a safe allergy-free hollandaise sauce.

Hollandaise is traditionally made with eggs, one of the top eight food allergens. To replace eggs, vegan versions of the classic sauce usually rely on silken tofu. However, soy (silken tofu) is also one of the top eight food allergens. So I had to put on my thinking cap.

I replaced the eggs and/or silken tofu with a rice milk and olive and canola oil emulsion and added a smidgen of turmeric and a little nutritional yeast for the lovely buttercup hue, and also a flavor boost. And, of course, I used lemon juice, since that zip of acidity is the backbone of all hollandaise sauces.

Bonus: this one is vegan, too, so there’s no salmonella risk. Additionally, unlike traditional hollandaise, it can be made in advance, and keeps well for several days, covered in the fridge. Just bring to room temperature before serving.

Remember when you make this, slow and steady wins the race. Add the oil a little at a time to achieve the creamiest end result. (more…)

Allergy Free Potato Leek Kugel for Passover

11

 

Kugel (Yiddish for pudding) can be sweet or savory, made with a combination of egg noodles, cheese, potatoes, apples, carrots, sweet potatoes, and, during Passover, often matzoh meal. No matter the taste profile, Kugel usually contains eggs and gluten. I wanted to avoid both. So I took on the challenge of creating a gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free Kugel recipe. (more…)